Cue the voice of omens: Winter is Coming

I have spent the past week mourning the end of summer, or more specifically mourning the lack of any real summer at all: I’m not sure I could point to two consecutive weeks of solid warmth (let alone heat) in the past 3 months! Now there isn’t even any faint, lingering hope: Autumn is definitely here, and Winter is Coming… How do I know? Let me count the ways:

  • we have pruned all the fruit trees till they begged for mercy
  • I pulled out all the dried-up, rusty old snow pea plants
  • the corn is ready to eat
  • lots of red tomatoes, and the vines are starting to wilt (despite all the green ones still struggling on)
  • we put the wool blankets back on the bed
  • we put flannelette sheets back on the bed
  • my hands are drying and chapping faster than I can keep the moisturiser going
  • the starlings have put on their autumn plumage and are sitting on the powerlines in front of our driveway, driving our dog bananas with their untouchable proximity
  • cloudy skies, drizzle, winds… followed by dazzling blasts of sunshine in the crisp, fresh air
  • snow on the mountain on Thursday morning – just a little, and gone by the afternoon, but I have a photo to prove it! (I saw a complete rainbow on the way to work that morning too)
  • the urge to cast on multiple shawls, socks and jumpers is strong and nearly irresistible!

I don’t know whether that last one counts as a sign of incipient Autumn – it could occur at almost any time of the year, depending upon my need to escape from ‘real’ life and make something beautiful with my hands.

However, I have decided that enough is enough – moaning, whinging and complaining about the weather does nothing but pollute the airspace around me, so I have decided instead to wave goodbye to anger and denial, and move on through acceptance to silver linings!

Benefits of Autumn:

  • snuggling into flannelette sheets
  • warm woolly socks make my feet happy
  • soft, snuggly shawls keep my neck and shoulders warm
  • hot cups of tea are really, really nice
  • big bowls of soup
  • rich, tasty casseroles and stews
  • early bulbs start to push up green shoots
  • lots of fabulous autumn fruits and veges
  • no more sunburn!
  • a lap full of thick, woolly knitting is wonderful!
  • leaves changing colour on deciduous plants add splashes of brilliance
  • more snuggling

So, how is your March going so far?

4 thoughts on “Cue the voice of omens: Winter is Coming

  1. I was confused by your title…until I realized we live in different hemispheres! Spring is teasing us here in the US, but if it comes soon I will miss cool mornings, bright stars in the cold air, and snuggling deep into thick sweaters!

    • ah, global connections bring special trickses!! I do find it mind-bending sometimes, reading blogs from opposite seasons – and frustrating too, sometimes, when someone is making something awesome but completely wrong for where I live!

  2. March is going well. While I am like a lizard in Summer soaking up the sun, Autumn is by far my most favourite time of year. I love the crisp mornings and the lovely warm afternoons, just perfect šŸ™‚

    • It is certainly giving me plenty of excuses to pull out the hand-knits and rug up – I’m currently sporting socks, uggies, merino tshirt, My Favourite Colour cardi, scarf, and have wrapped my poor cold legs in my ancient mohair rug. Also contemplating fingerless mitts, because my fingers are a bit cold and it’s interfering with my typing. Weatherzone says it is now 14.3 deg C, though it might be a bit cooler in this room due to fresh breeze coming from the open front door.

Leave a Reply

