First FO of 2012!

PinkCorn socksYay! I completed a pair of child’s socks in ONE WEEK!! This is a personal first, and achieved mostly on trains, waiting for and watching children at playgrounds, with a little bit of at-home knitting to do heels and first cuff (I knew what I was doing for the second so could do that whilst out and about).

Yarn: Maizy (corn fibre) sock yarn. One from each of two 50gm balls, because I don’t have a set of digital scales here to weigh up how much I used. Enough left over for another child’s pair of toe-up socks, I think.

Needles: KP Harmony 2.5mm circs (no dropping needles on train/in queue/at playground)

Pattern: made up, from Judy’s Magic Cast-on, guesstimate of st count, Cat Bordhi’s Sweet Tomato Heel, eyelet ribbing and Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bind-Off. Eyelet pattern on foot thrown in to amuse myself.

Socks and model

Miss V is very happy with them, even though they are a little long – I guess she’ll get an extra year out of them! When it came to make the second sock, the first one was already stretched and very grubby due to herself prancing around in it whenever she could, the other foot bare 🙂

5 thoughts on “First FO of 2012!

    • I have to admit that my favourite part is the way her skinny little legs rise up out of the lacy cuffs – makes me feel all maternal and gooey for a second!

      ________________________________

    • Dear Cindy, Thank you! Miss V really is looking like a ready-for-school girl, rather than a little girl. The eyelet ribbing was fun to do, the little squiggles of the knit stitches swerving around the holes were very entertaining! Kate

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

