It must be Autumn…

We’ve changed the clocks…
We have had some glorious weather and some hideous weather, alternating two or three times per week…
I’ve been feeling the gardening urge…
Household cuisine this week has included (on different days) corned beef, pea/ham/vege soup, slow-roasted lamb shanks, scones, bikkies, baked rice custard and an apple/cherry crumble thingy…
I took advantage of yesterday’s glorious sunshine to wash the quilt, cotton blanket and wool underblanket from our bed…
Mr 11 played the first game of the club hockey season at 5pm yesterday evening…with a few showers to make it really authentic, the droplets sparkling under the floodlights…
The colonial influence on Tasmania can be seen in all the deciduous trees dropping golden, bronze and ruby leaves in gardens and parks everywhere…
The autumn sales are on at the shops, just in time for me to replenish my work wardrobe…
I have been working on a Liesl for my mother…

Photo 11

And I am hemming my Rosamund cardi. I am going to need it very soon.

5 thoughts on “It must be Autumn…

  1. I have to say you look as if knitting is a banned art form and you are breaking the knitting law!!! It’s still reasonable warm up here, skirt and top weather even with the rain. I do like Autumn and like you, I am looking forward to wearing my cardigans. It is a bit of a shock when the Sun sets at 5-58pm though.

  2. Oh yes, I think you are going to need it. We went out tonight for DD and SIL’s birthdays (Tues & Wed respectively) and when we came out of the restaurant it was very cool – one might even say cold!

  3. I normally love Autumn, but this one is kicking my butt so far.
    I also washed the bedding this week, it’s probably the last time until next spring that it won’t take days to dry. Can’t wait to see Rosamund in all her glory 🙂

  4. I must agree with Cindy – you do indeed look a bit furtive and guilty 😉 (BTW, is that an EZ’s sewn bind-off in progress? Always an excellent choice!)

    We have had some cooler weather this week, after a lengthy “Indian summer”. I even had to light the heater this morning! Hooray!

    My boys are on hols for the next two-and-a-half weeks, and I have plans for lots of baking and other kitchen-y fun.

  5. Well, thank you, and you, and you, and you!
    * I was hoping for conspiratorial rather than furtive
    * I’m sure it is now cold enough for most people – today’s weather is pushing towards unpleasant
    * I may have cleaned up (!) in the blanket-drying contest, but I really lost on the spare-towel division
    * I have put the heater on, and I have ten centimetres of hem between me and the start of my sleeves.

Leave a Reply

