Rain Day

It’s raining here today, in a continuous, almost determined way. Mostly when it rains here we have light to medium showers for a while and then the wind dries things off, but not today. Today the window glitters with raindrops reflecting the silver cloudlight, and every now and then an especially crowded flurry of drops turns the glass into a surface for the water to race downwards in wavering vertical streaks. The rain on the corrugated iron roof makes a rushing background noise to the sounds of our family life inside the house. There is one drip from a skylight in the rumpus room that is providing a fairly steady counterpoint to the sound of my husband rattling cutlery in the kitchen.

Today I don’t have to do any laundry.

Today I don’t have to walk the dogs.

Today I can’t get out into the garden and plant more vege seeds.
Photo1565

So this morning I have been ensconced in my round red chair, wrapped in knitwear, drinking cups of tea and making progress on a sock. Perhaps later I will give my hands a break and work on something else, or maybe we will rug up and head out to the shops to buy new pyjamas for the kids.

For now though, I’m going to put on a podcast, listen to the rain, and get back to enjoying my sock.

I hope your Saturday is as satisfying as mine.

7 thoughts on “Rain Day

  1. Geez you can’t beat that sort of SAturday can you? Ours was pretty wet too but I had places to be so I didn’t get a lot of cosy knitting done. That sock is simply gorgeous!

  2. That is a truly beautiful description of the rain. So glad you get to stop and knit socks, it’s a very pretty sock, how far along is it now?

  3. Thank you Bells and Leonie, I am loving my sock. And I got so much knitting done on the weekend I haven’t had much withdrawal at all this week!

    • Hi Jodi,
      Cherry Tree Hill, Martha’s Vineyard – so yummy! pattern is Bartholomew’s Tantalising Sock, Cat Bordhi.

    • Hi Jodi, Cherry Tree Hill, Martha’s Vineyard – so yummy! pattern is Bartholomew’s Tantalising Sock, Cat Bordhi. It’s a lot bigger now – ready for funky heel shaping – but where to find the attention-span?? thanks for reminding me to check the knitting bag! Kate

      A Knightly Knitter visit me in my castle @ https://knightlyknitter.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

